I am so shocked sometimes at what store-bought “natural” chemical peels cost!

But I sure do love the bang that those lightly acidic zingers do for the face in terms of killing off acne bacteria and revealing fresh, glowy skin cells! At 27, my skin has slowed down its cell turnover enough that I often see dullness, but it still creates enough oil for acne…So, needing a facial is rather common for me!

What does a girl do when she needs a facial and can’t justify the $35-a-jar stuff from Sephora in her budget?

She goes to the produce aisle and raids her cabinets!

All the ingredients are there. Let’s grab some:

  • Baking Soda
  • Honey
  • Fresh lemon (cut in half, or if a big lemon, in quarters)

Got your goodies yet?  We’re ready to do this thing.

Enjoy this awkward step-by-step shot from my iPhone at night. Wonderful photography, I tell ya!

 

Step 1: Prep the Natural Chemical Peel

Note the Aldi's products. See? Saving money already!

Note the Aldi’s products (honey and baking soda). See? Saving money already!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pour the honey on first after you've squeezed the lemon a bit.  The honey has natural antibacterial properties!

Pour the honey on first after you’ve squeezed the lemon a bit. The honey has natural antibacterial properties!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then add the acid neutralizer: Baking Soda. The honey will keep it separate from the acidic lemon juice until you're ready to apply it all to your face. And the baking soda is a nice exfoliant!

Then add the acid neutralizer: Baking Soda. The honey will keep the soda separate from the acidic lemon juice until you’re ready to apply it all to your face. At that time, the baking soda makes a nice exfoliant!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

STEP 2: Prep the Face by Cleansing

Off with makeup!  I'm using Trader Joe's green tea soap.

Off with makeup! I’m using Trader Joe’s green tea soap. If my Clarisonic had a new head, I’d use it instead of a towel.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

STEP 3: Gently Rub on the Mixture

Boy, you can see how badly I need this. All broken out on the forehead and chin.  Ick!

Boy, you can see how badly I need this. All broken out on the forehead (and chin, not shown). Ick!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

STEP 4: Try Not to Pick at the Lemony Bits as Mixture Sits for 5 Minutes

Failing at not picking/dabbing at the bits of lemon flesh leftover.

Failing at not picking/dabbing at the bits of lemon flesh left over.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

STEP 5: Rinse Completely Off

All clean!

All clean!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

STEP 6: Put on Your Anti-Agers and Moisturizers of Choice

 

Love, love, love this stuff. And it's so cheap on Amazon. At night, I add a little coconut oil to this for moisture.

Love, love, love this stuff. Smells like orange and vanilla and is full of retinol and Vitamin C. And it’s so cheap on Amazon considering how long a bottle lasts! At night, I add a little coconut oil to this for moisture.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

During the day, I use the Simple Moisturizer with SPF 15 when I'm not spending more than an hour or two outside.

During the day, I use the Simple Protecting Moisturizer with SPF 15 when I’m not spending more than an hour or two outside.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

STEP 7: Wait a Few Days and Repeat As Needed… Until You See Results

 

LEFT: Age 27.5. RIGHT: Age newly-22.

LEFT: Age 27.5.
RIGHT: Age newly-22.

 

 

This is after about 10 days, doing the Lemon-Honey Peel twice and resting a few days in-between. I’m still a little broken out on the “phone-side” of my chin, but I think a lot of my former “glow” is restored. What do you think, reader?

Until next time, your stingy, citrus-y friend,

 

Ruth

 

 

