Dearest Readers and Fellow Bloggers,

I’ve been on a mini-hiatus from all-things-Internet (except for email, which I put on the same level as my cellphone in terms of communication) for the week.  Why? Because I’m trying to sort several things out at once.

For one thing, I’m considering quitting eHarmony. Not just because of the money (seriously, it’s like $30 per month, and that’s their best deal), but because of the fact that, frankly, it just feels too strange for me to keep sifting through pictures and 300-word profiles like I’m shopping in a catalogue.  I have heard of people finding Mr. Right in this fashion, but quite frankly, I’m thinking it’s the wrong way for me to go about it. Mom found her Mr. Right only when she gave up and told God to do the scouting and the matching for her.  God is more efficient, and he’s usually cheaper (although he sometimes incurs some charges for processing and shipping; more on that in later posts about why God gives and takes away).

Why all this thinking about God and matchmaking?  Why even think, at age twenty-two, so seriously about marriage?  For several reasons, actually, and I’ll be honest about them all:

  1. I held a baby tonight to give a mom a reprieve.  It not only earned me a nice tip, but I think my ovaries were screaming at me from all the cuteness.  The girl was cornsilk-haired and had a sanpaku gaze (yin, not yang).  So. Adorable.
  2.  Said baby not only approached me and put her hands on my child-bearing hips in a clear demand to get picked up, but she fell asleep while I was holding her.  Babies don’t do that stuff to perfect strangers unless God tells them to. Seriously. They don’t.  I therefore conclude that God’s telling me to be a mommy, and to start preparing emotionally and intellectually for the task.
  3. (I know my brother reads this blog, so I’d like to apologize for number 3 in advance). I think I like sex.  I can’t say for certain, of course, what with my intacta status, but all my hormones are fully functioning. As is my imagination. I’ve deduced that I am not called to singleness because of this; if I am so called, then God is meaner than I thought.  And not just to me.  I feel sorry for whatever guy might miss out if I removed myself from the sex-kitten pool.  I say that in all humility, and not just with full knowledge of what I look like naked…
  4. I think I have some things to offer in terms of my companionability, too.  I’ve been through a lot, and not much scares me anymore, let alone the rough patches of marriage. How many other girls  their early twenties can say that they’d already nursed someone who was going through a devastating illness?  Been the emotional support for someone who was facing the prospect of their own death? Learned to cook, clean, sew, and run a household?  Learned to budget?  Learned to laugh at the stupid little things and decide when to make their own fun during the dry spells and economic downturns?

And that’s about it for my reasons, but I think they’re good ones. You might think I’m full of it. If so, please comment.

So, now you know where I’ve been: off in my own world, contemplating marriage. Forgive me for my absence.

For my next trick, I’ll be forcing myself to write about an uncomfortable subject:  Naomi.  That’s right; she’s an important character study in the book of Ruth, too, and my own Naomi is a lot like her. I’ll let FB know when I update! 

Thanks for reading.  I mean it.

 

Love,

Ruth

 

P.S.

In addition to avoiding the computer for contemplative purposes, I was also avoiding looking at this until it officially came out today (presented by the actors themselves at the MTV VMAs, no less), and it made my otherwise very long night spent carrying trays and cleaning out soy sauce bottles much more interesting:

Twilighters, enjoy.  I know I did.  It looks better than the book, but I may just be saying that because I thought New Moon was Meyer’s second-weakest of the quadrilogy (Breaking Dawn being the worst because of the stretches in character and the way SM treats Edward like a caricature of himself).  Chris Weitz (the New Moon director) is made of WIN.  Just look at those gorgeous fursploding werewolves!  The vampy smackdowns!  It makes my geeky self very happy.  Can’t wait for 11-20, and apparently, neither can the aliens. Check out these crop circles:

New Moon Crop Circle/Maze, located in Utah.  Because theres nothing better to do in Utah than worship RPattz and TLaut.

New Moon Crop Circle/Maze, located in Utah. Because there's nothing better to do in Utah than worship RPattz and TLaut.

Full article here:

http://www.radaronline.com/exclusives/2009/09/field-dreams-09-utah-corn-maze-pays-homage-twilight

